Instant Reflection

Hong Kong Artists and Sketches

12/6/2020 - 29/8/2020

香港仔1.jpg

Featuring around 120 sketches by 40 Hong Kong artists from different fields, the exhibition is jointly organised by Sun Museum and Xiang Gang Mei Xie in collaboration with Hong Kong Art.

Sketching is the fundamental skill of representing shapes and forms. It is also an independent art form. The exhibits demonstrate their creators’ keen eyes of observation as well as swift but accurate drawing skills. Spanning a range of media, they speak of the distinctive style of each participating artist: human forms delineated in charcoal; glamorous cityscapes captured in ink wash; atmospheric effects rendered with oil paint; landscapes and architecture depicted with precision typical of the fountain pen. The sketches may appear simple or as a form of doodling and yet adequately reflect the artistic attainments of their creators.

Artists​

Tien Chi

WONG Chau Tung

Wucius WONG

SZETO Nai Chung, Nigel

SHING Kin Cheung

CHU Tat Shing

HO Siu Chung, Alex

SHEN Ping

CHEUK Na

ZHOU Jin

LAM Shiu Chi

LAM Tian Xing

LAM Cheng Feng

LAM Man Kong

QIU Yu Zhang

HAU Siu Ching

WAI King Man, Keman

YUNG Ngai Man

Yick Hang

MA Tat Wai

MA Chuen

Kassia KO

HUI Chiu Ki

HUI Kam Wor, Thomas

CHAN Chung Shu

CHAN Fong Yuen

CHAN Wai

CHAN Chiu Lung

CHEN Keng

PANG Lai Man, Amy

ZENG Damao

WONG Hau Kwei

LIU Cheng Mui

HUNG Hoi

ZHAO Zhijun

AUYEUNG Nai Chim

POON Yeuk Fai

CHOI Kin Yue

TAM Nga Man

TSE Ching

The Art of Sketching

Sketching and drawing are highly related because sketches are in fact a type of drawing. Drawing is a basic skill and can generally be divided into two categories: “slow drawing” in which a painter meticulously depicts a subject and “quick drawing” in which the depiction is rapidly executed. Both are derived from life drawing.

As for how drawing is accomplished, three methods are commonly adopted. The first is by observing the subject from a fixed angle and drawing exactly what is seen. This is named the “linear perspective” as the drawing only has one fixed focal point. The second method is by observing the subject from different perspectives and recording its various forms, known as the “scattered perspective”. As such, “linear perspective” only presents a single form of the subject while “scattered perspective” depicts not a fixed but multiple forms. Consequently, an expanded scene is created since the image of an object is interpreted from different angles.

Painters practising Western painting often use the “linear perspective” to draw a direct replica of what is seen while those practising traditional Chinese painting prefer the “scattered perspective” and draw lines using ink. This is called bai miao (“plain drawing”), similar to drawing in Western art. However, bai miao does not show varying gradations of ink while drawing gives rise to a three-dimensional effect through the light-dark contrast.

Chinese painters emphasise the essence of a sketched subject. They conduct a comprehensive observation and then render all the multiple forms in one drawing. Hence, bai miao is usually a “slow drawing” with “scattered perspective”.

Today, drawing has evolved into an independent art form. In addition to sketching on the spot, a painter often captures the subject in his memory and then reproduces it through changing its form or the whole composition, turning it into his own creative work. This is termed the “painting method”, the third method of drawing. In most cases, “quick drawing” is rendered by the “linear perspective” or “painting method”.

Hong Kong painters have been employing diverse methods while incorporating both Western and Chinese painting. They are not limited to sketching sceneries nor only using a monochromatic pen; they also employ different colour tones such as watercolour, ink or oil paints to rapidly compose a drawing. In terms of style, their sketches are mostly realistic, some combining the meticulous and expressive styles, but seldom abstract.

Modern sketching is not just a preliminary practice, nor is it necessarily categorised under drawing. It is considered a complete painting. A painter must possess great techniques in order to quickly finish an artwork. At the same time, the painter needs to grasp the key feature of the subject within a short time and render it expeditiously. Thematically, a good sketch highlights the atmosphere of a landscape, the essence of a person or that of an object. Such sketches may appear simple or as a form of doodling yet they adequately reflect a creator’s artistic attainment. Hence, we must learn to wholeheartedly appreciate sketching.

 

YEUNG Chun Tong

Director, Sun Museum

Exhibits

WONG Chau Tung

Glamorous Hong Kong

Ink and colour on paper

2020

42 x 29.5 cm

CHEN Keng

Haze

Oil on canvas

2015

30 x 40 cm

HO Siu Chung, Alex

Figure

Charcoal on paper

2000

40 x 40 cm

Yick Hang

Waiting for the Green Traffic Light Signal

Marker on paper

2020

42 x 29.7 cm

Exhibition catalogue

  • Instant Reflection.jpg

    Instant Reflection: Hong Kong Artists and Sketches

    Editor: NGAN Yu Ting

    2020, hardcover, Chinese/English, 128 pages, 23.5 x 31 cm

    ISBN: 978-988-78197-3-8

    A fully illustrated exhibition catalogue featuring around 120 sketches by 40 Hong Kong artists from different fields, including Tien Chi, WONG Chau Tung, LAM Tian Xing, HAU Siu Ching, WAI King Man and CHEN Keng.

    Price: HKD$100

4th Floor, SML Tower, 165 Hoi Bun Road, Kwun Tong, Kowloon, Hong Kong

(852) 2690 6790

© 2015 by Simon Suen Foundation Limited.

一新時光
香港速寫

12/6/2020 - 29/8/2020

香港仔1.jpg

展覽導賞

是次展覽由香港美協與本館聯合主辦,《藝術香港》雜誌協辦,展出約一百二十幅速寫作品,來自四十位不同背景的香港畫家。
 
速寫是訓練造型的基本途徑,同時也可作為獨立的藝術形式。展覽的作品既表現畫家敏銳的觀察力,並反映他們迅速的表達能力,可運用不同媒介去演繹不同風格:有以炭筆線條概括人體姿態,淋漓筆墨表現都市光影,油畫色調渲染自然氛圍,或鋼筆細線描繪風景建築。這些看似是簡單隨意的作品,足以反映畫家在藝術造詣上的表現。

畫家

天 池

王秋童

王無邪

司徒乃鍾

成乾祥

朱達誠

何少中

沈 平

卓 娜

周 晉

林小枝

林天行

林誠風

林鳴崗

邱育章

侯紹政

韋勁敏

容藝文

益 行

馬達為

馬 銓

高杏娟

許昭奇

許錦和

陳中樞

陳方遠

陳 偉

陳朝龍

陳 鏗

彭麗雯

曾大毛

黃孝逵

廖井梅

熊 海

趙志軍

歐陽乃沾

潘躍輝

蔡健如

談雅文

謝 政

總監的話

速寫與素描是很有密切的關係,因為常見的速寫作品其實在性質上屬於素描。素描原是繪畫的入門技法,大致上可分為兩類。當畫家把寫生對象細緻地描繪出來,這是“慢寫素描”;如果畫家以快捷的方法去寫生,便屬“速寫素描”。兩者同是由寫生得來的。

 

至於如何素描,亦可分三方面的處理手法。在第一方面,畫家從一個固定的角度去觀察對象,把所見的直接畫出來,即在作品上只有一個不動的焦點,這是“焦點法”。在第二方面,畫家則從不同的角度觀察對象,然後把對象的多種形態一起記錄下來,便屬於“散點法”。所以“焦點法”只交代寫生對象的一種形態,但“散點法”則在作品上沒有固定的圖形,而出現一個擴張的畫面,即畫面有多於一個圖形,演繹在不同視角下所見到的物體形象。

 

西畫家在素描時一般採“焦點法”,所見和所畫是一樣的。傳統中國畫家則喜用“散點法”。他們只以水墨畫出線條,所造出的作品稱“白描”。這“白描”便類似西畫的“素描”,不過“白描”沒有墨色深淺的層次,“素描”則呈現光影明暗的立體感覺。

 

國畫家注重表達寫生對象的精神,他們因此對物體全面觀察,然後將觀察所得的多種形態在同一畫面上呈現出。所以“白描”通常是採“散點法”的“慢寫素描”。

但發展至今天,素描已形成一門獨立藝術。畫家除於現場寫生外,還往往將所觀察的對象記憶下來,然後默寫這印象中的物體,或將物體變形,或另改構圖,自行畫出別具創意的作品。這些是屬第三方面的手法,可叫做“繪畫法”的素描。目前所見的“速寫素描”主要是由“焦點法”或“繪畫法”產生的。

香港畫家的技巧現已多元化,兼擅西畫和國畫。他們不限於寫生的速寫,亦不限於以單色筆進行速寫,還會運用水彩、水墨或油彩等多種色調速成一幅繪畫。在風格上,他們的速寫作品主要是寫實的,亦兼有寫實和寫意,但沒有抽象的嘗試。

現代速寫已不只是練習之作,亦不一定屬於素描類別,而被視為完整的繪畫。畫家須具備純熟的技巧,才能迅速完成這件藝術品。除技巧外,畫家也須於短時間內掌握所畫對象的特色,然後快捷地將這重點表達出來。因此,在題材上,速寫佳作必能凸顯風景的氛圍、人物的神韻,或靜物的趣味。這些雖然看似是簡單或隨意之作,但足以反映作者在藝術造詣上的表現。所以我們必須用心去欣賞速寫。

一新美術館

總監 楊春棠

​展品

王秋童

香江華彩

水墨設色紙本

2020

42 x 29.5 cm

陳鏗

霧靄

油彩布本

2015

30 x 40 cm

何少中

人體

炭筆紙本

2000

40 x 40 cm

益行

靜候綠燈

馬克筆紙本

2020

42 x 29.7 cm

  • 潘玉良

    裸女

    1940

    91 x 64.2 厘米

    廖井梅

    午後

    2019

    38.5 x 48.5 厘米

    ​展覽圖錄

    Instant Reflection.jpg

    一新時光:香港速寫

    編輯: 顏汝婷

    2020,平裝,中英文,128頁,23.5 x 31厘米

    國際書號: 978-988-78197-3-8

     

    這彩色圖錄是配合「一新時光:香港速寫」展覽而印製,輯錄了天池、王秋童、林天行、侯紹政、韋勁敏和陳鏗等四十位香港畫家的速寫作品,約一百二十幅。

    售價:100元

香港九龍觀塘海濱道165號SML大廈4樓    (852) 2690 6790 

© 孫少文基金會有限公司