4th Floor, SML Tower, 165 Hoi Bun Road, Kwun Tong, Kowloon, Hong Kong

(852) 2690 6790

© 2015 by Simon Suen Foundation Limited.

Our space

Venue design

Housed in the 4th floor of the SML Tower along the Kwun Tong waterfront, the Museum has an total area of 12,500 sq. ft. with 5000 sq. ft. of exhibition space, and an outdoor court of 4100 sq. ft.. Overlooking the Kwun Tong waterfront promenade, the Museum commands a spectacular harbour view dotted with a Cruise Terminal and amazing high-rise architecture stretching from Eastern District to Wan Chai.

 

The Hong Kong Government is implementing the "Energising Kowloon East" plan to enliven Kowloon Bay and Kwun Tong by providing more cultural and recreational facilities. As part of the "Kai Tak Fantasy" programme, the former typhoon shelter facing the Museum will be transformed into a sea world. Area in the vicinity will be enhanced to include a green boulevard and a designated zone for art activities. Hence, the Sun Museum plays a pioneer role in contributing to the grand development of Kowloon East. 

 

Design concept

The museum is designed according to the traditional Chinese concept of the five-elements to strive for everlasting movement and change as well as smooth operation. It consists of four sections: exhibition hall, office, corridor and terrace, each differentiated by colour of the five-elements of metal, wood, water, fire and earth.

 

The exhibition hall has two walls facing each other with one painted beige white and the other red. They represent the elements metal and fire respectively. Sparks are produced when metal meets fire and it is hoped that sparks will be generated when visitors view the exhibits.

 

The office in charge of administration is the heart of the museum and is therefore positioned in the centre. According to the five-elements concept, the office represents earth and the walls should therefore be in yellow.

 

The corridor is painted in harmonious green and brown to reflect the wood element. On the other hand, the main entrance is painted red to symbolize fire. The combination of wood and fire gives life and vitality to the museum.

 

The terrace is situated north and belongs to the water element. Therefore, its brick floor and surrounding wall are in black, which is the colour for the water element. As water sustains wood, the terrace is furnished with wooden fences and furniture to create the ambience of comfort for visitors. Brick, being fired clay, is classified as earth within the five-elements. On the basis that wood controls earth, wooden furnishings of the terrace will eliminate excess earth energy, thereby enhancing prosperity.

香港九龍觀塘海濱道165號SML大廈4樓    (852) 2690 6790 

© 孫少文基金會有限公司

藝術空間

場地介紹

本館設於香港觀塘區海旁SML大廈四樓,總面積約12,500平方呎。展廳面積約5,000平方呎,並附設室外平台,約4,100平方呎。


本館正位於觀塘海濱長廊的休憩空間,面對矚目的郵輪碼頭。在館內除可遠眺對岸港島的建築物,並能欣賞香港東區至灣仔一帶的海港景色。

香港政府現推行"起動九龍東" 計劃,為這地區增添文娛設施,以及加強文化氣息。本館面前的避風塘將變身為"飛躍啟德" 項目下的水上樂園,而附近一帶將美化成林蔭大道和文化藝術區。因此,本館的創立正配合這東九龍文娛計劃的發展。

設計概念

本館場地以中國傳統文化的「五行」為設計概念, 取其生生不息的原理,讓館務得以順利發展。館場分四個區域,包括展覽廳、辦事處、公共走廊和室外平台,各以豐富明亮的顏色區分, 表現金、木、水、火、土的「五行」組合。

 

展覽廳兩幅相對的主牆分別選用米白與紅色,前者屬「金」,後者屬「火」。金屬當接觸火便產生變化,寓意觀眾與展品產生互動,擦出火花。

 

辦事處主導美術館發展方向,相等於一個機構的核心,因此置於中央。根據「五行」,中央歸屬於「土」,牆壁因應屬性配以黃色。

 

公共走廊漆上綠色,正門大堂則是仿木的褐色;兩者皆屬「木」,締造和諧氛圍。正門附近的紅色牆象徵「火」,配成「木」生「火」之局,寓意生氣勃勃,美術館充滿活力。

 

室外平台位於北方,歸屬於「水」, 地磚和圍牆因而選用代表「水」的黑色。 由於「水」生「木」, 於是為平台選置的圍欄和家具均為木器,符合五行相生的格局,讓訪客置身其中享有舒適的感覺。地磚和牆磚均由陶土燒成,屬於五行的「土」。 基於「木」剋「土」的原理,在平台添置木器,可利用「木」消減「土」氣,便能增加興旺之氣。